Leaving a Trail

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”   -Ralph Waldo Emerson

My friend Aozora told me that quote the other day and that made me wonder: what trail do I wanna lead? We always talk about following someone else’s footsteps, but sometimes you need to make your own path and step out of shadow.  You can’t compare your life with someone else’s since you don’t have the same path and same materials.  Everyone is different and it’s a good thing to lead your path.  Sometimes it’s a struggle and you may not know what to do or you may change your mind, but it’s ok since not every path is perfectly straight.  It’s ok to have twists and turns or maybe even go back a few steps to go a different path.  So now, I need to find my own path.  I can’t worry about how other people’s paths differ from mine.  I just have to lead my own path. 

Leave a Reply

