High 5

“I need a high five.”  “What??” I asked of Aozora’s random request.  “I just need a high five,” she repeated.  So, I raised my hand as she painfully slapped her palm into mine. “Did you realize that high fives were a transfer of energy?” she said.  I had never realized it before.  I had never questioned the act of slapping each other’s palms to congratulate or celebrate.  It takes two to “high-five” (unless you feel like “high-fiving” yourself?) and two hands meet in the middle (usually) to create a connection of (sometimes painful) energy.  So I wonder how was the high five created?

Leave a Reply

