Esperanza

When reading the “House of Mango Street” by Sandra Cisneros, I see parts of myself in the main character Esperanza.  In many instances throughout the book, Esperanza does not speak out and stand up for herself.  I find myself angry at her sometimes for not standing up, but I realized I do the same things too.  I don’t raise my hand in class to share my opinion sometimes.  I don’t stand up for myself when people are being mean.  I’m hesitant to dance in room full of people watching me.  Because the truth is, I’m scared.  Just like Esperanza, I’m scared of what other people think.  I’m scared of authority.  I’m scared of being wrong.

Leave a Reply

