“Play Day”

kids_playing_outside

(CC.2.0, 2013, Caroline Kirchner)

As the TED-talk speaker was talking about incorporating more “play” into our lives, I realized how little of it I have.  Many of the things he was saying were true, like how less play can cause you to have less empathy and emotion.  I was probably much nicer and more naive back then when all I had to do was “play”, but I still learned social skills and how to interact in the world.  In school now, I learn the steps of photosynthesis and how to calculate the circumference, but not many real world skills that I would use.  But now, I want to dedicate more time to “play”, so I can talk to communicate with others and actually learn real-world skills.

Leave a Reply

